Thursday. As I Have Loved.

I read the Gospel of John, chapters 13 – 17

These 5 chapters are, in my opinion, among the most beautiful in scripture.

From the moment Jesus enters the Passover room until He hears the approach of the mob in the Garden, love overshadows every word.

As a servant, He kneels and washes their feet and says, You do not know what I am doing now, but you will understand later.

I wonder. Do we understand?

Before Jesus shows His love through suffering and death, He expresses His love in words. They pour from Him in a torrent of affection and tenderness: Dear ones, love each other as I love you. Do not fear. I’m going away, but I will return for you. Love. Obey my commands. Love. I will send the Comforter. I give you my joy. Love. And I have overcome the world.

These words have comforted the Church through the ages. If we let them, they purge resentment and bitterness. They soften hard places, rough places. I speak these words to you that you may have peace.

Jesus prays for Himself and for us.

Within a few hours, He will be kneeling in a garden on the slopes of the Mount of Olives. His agony will be so great that an angel will minister to Him. Regarding this terrible scene, G. Gordon Campbell writes: “He began to enter into the consciousness of His absolute isolation.”

He passes the test. Not my will. Your will alone.

And tonight, on the eve of Calvary, I will worship, and pray that prayer.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Erin on April 5, 2012 at 8:01 am

    Lovely, what a beautiful scene that portrays Christ’s deep love for us.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lavonnepowell on April 5, 2012 at 8:01 am

    Love to you and yours at this very special time of year! Thanks for your wonderful reminder of Jesus great love for us!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

