Job. Denouement.

denouement:  [French] the solution, unraveling, or clarification of a plot in a drama or story

“I know God will not give me anything I can’t handle,” Mother Teresa said. “I just wish that He didn’t trust me so much.”

In case you’ve forgotten, lets recap what Job has had to handle: Children dead and wealth destroyed. Sick and disfigured, sitting in an ash heap. Friends insisting his calamity is the result of sin. Vigorously defending himself, flirting at times with irreverence, and rashly accusing God of being unjust. 37 chapters.

God must trust him a lot.

One might think that, considering Job’s condition, this would be a good time for the still, small Voice. But no. A massive whirlwind spins up out of the southern desert.  And now, finally, God answered Job from the eye of a violent storm. He said, “Why do you confuse the issue?  Why do you talk without knowing what you’re talking about? Pull yourself together, Job! Up on your feet! Stand tall! I have some questions for you, and I want some straight answers. (38:1-3 Msg)

Pull yourself together! I’m going to give you a detailed verbal tour of the earth and its creatures with the megaphone of heaven! When I’m done, let Me know if you feel like arguing anymore, or accusing Me of lacking compassion.

Jehovah, wise and watchful, knows that Job’s terrible trial requires an awe-inspiring response. In four blazing chapters, He does not disappoint. And Job answers for all of us: I am a lightweight. What shall I answer You? I lay my hand over my mouth.

Indeed. Tribulation has done its hard, exhausting work on the spirit of man. What is left is refined, purified, beautiful. The denouement of God’s purpose, after all.

How has God spoken to you during or after a severe trial?

6 responses to this post.

  1. In times of trial, God’s most comforting and advising words are these …. “Carolyn, please just don’t make it worse!” And that, oftimes, is enough. xo

    Reply

  2. Posted by Erin Smith on May 30, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    He is sovereign!
    Thank you for the reminder:) You know I like to be reminded<3

    Reply

  3. God always reminds me to Trust in HIM no matter what, through the fear, through the pain. When we give it to him HE is faithful! I just have to remind myself often! Thanks sister Deb!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

