Some Help If You See WORG

Oh my.

Down the road from me is a small house that sits on several acres. Rusty, a big, friendly man, lives there with his dad. He has a couple of grandkids and plants a big garden every spring.

And every summer, without fail, he urges me to come and pick tomatoes, which I love with a great and enduring love, anytime I want. So I do.

This past summer, a metal sign appeared in his garden, part of which sits smack in front of his house. It said, “worg.”  I was puzzled as I power-walked past, but as Rusty can be a pretty quirky character, I smiled and kept moving.

Now, I am a reasonably intelligent person, but it wasn’t until a couple of days later that I realized what that sign actually said.

See. I told you.

Please stop laughing, and keep reading.

My problem, as it turns out, was perspective.

So I’ve been thinking about this in recent days, following our national election. And fragments of verse at the end of I Corinthians 13 have been running through my mind.

Here are two things to consider:

  • No matter how smart we think we are, our knowledge is incomplete and fragmented. God’s is not.  For we know in part . . . but when that which is perfect has come, that which is in part will end.  Commenting on these verses, 19 c. Bible scholar C. Lipscomb writes:  “Institutions founded in Providence are left to no chance or accident as to continuance, decay, extinction. God comes into them, abides, departs, according to His will. If He numbers our days as living men, this is equally true of institutions.” Regardless how much we love our magnificent country with its magnificent Constitution, its continuance, decay, or extinction is God’s business. Our primary task is His Kingdom business. Loving our families, neighbors, and communities with Christ’s love. Every day. In some way.
  • We see “a dim reflection, as if we were looking into a mirror.”  In Paul’s day, mirrors were polished silver or some other metal. The image would have been indistinct, at best. (And, may I say, particularly cumbersome for women.) But someday, without reflection or spin or worg, we will experience Reality. Until then, we can be cooperating with God in Kingdom work.

Finally, some thoughts from C.S Lewis in Mere Christianity:

“[God] works on us in all sorts of ways: not only through what we think our ‘religious life.’ He works through Nature, through our own bodies, through books, sometimes through experiences which seem (at the time) anti-Christian.

But above all, He works on us through each other.”

Remember, “Men are mirrors of Christ to other men. That is why the Church, the whole body of Christians showing Him to one another, is so important.”

There’s some perspective for us.

Do you struggle with keeping a proper perspective? In what regard?

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. I usually need a BIGGER perspective. Worg didn’t make sense until I factored in the Tomatos.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Erin Smith on November 14, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    These exact verses spoke deeply to my heart yesterday… and again today on a different level. Thanks for some great perspective:)

    Reply

  3. Interesting how that happens, isn’t it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

