Ideas for Leftover Christmas Cheer

 That's the plan.

That’s the plan.

What will I do with Christmas now that it is over? All that leftover love, joy, peace, and good cheer? I certainly don’t want to forget those good wishes I distributed throughout the season.

Let’s see.

  • Perhaps I could take the love and share it with my neighbors, those folks I knowbut not really. Get to know them better. Ask them how I can pray for them. Invite them to worship with me.
  • Joy is easy enough to take shopping. Grocery store, returning wrong sizes, stocking up on staples that vanished over the holidays. Throw in some patience with cranky fellow shoppers. My face lit with a smile is like a walking light bulb. It’s also cheap and easy to operate.
  • Peace. Well, there are those family members, those challenging family members, who need some. Words of peace, deeds of peace. I can do that, can’t I?
  • Good cheer? This phrase always comes up at Christmastime. Those old English carols, you know. And Dickens’ Scrooge showing the way. A pleasant countenance at all times. Good cheer is like a vitamin I need to take every morning. Just do it and eventually I’ll feel better.

Jesus eventually left the manger, grew up, and lived these things out every day of His life.

Now it’s my turn.

Do you have ideas for other Christmas leftovers? Leave a comment and share them with us.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Great post and challenge Sister Deb! Bring on the Good Cheer ALL year (definitely a choice)!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mary Lucas on December 26, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    Thank you, very insightful post:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

