Why You Should Read the One Year Bible

The one that started it all.

The one that started it all.

In 1991, my beloved grandmother, Irene Daisy Wheeler, passed away. While sorting through her things I came across a still-shrinked-wrapped, hardcover copy of the One Year Bible. It was the New International Version and came with a small green journal.

That discovery changed my relationship with the Bible.

The format intrigued me. The daily readings started in January at the beginning of  Genesis, Matthew, Psalms, and Proverbs. A 4-track parallel course through the Word.

I started on a regimen of daily reading for the next 20 years.

That first NIV became what I call my “working” copy. I read every book with a pencil and this Bible was no exception. I made comments in the margins. Asked questions in the margins. I transferred the textual notes from the back of the Bible into the body for easier reference.

After a number of years, I purchased a New Kings James Version. I spent the first year transferring all my notes from the NIV to the new Bible during my daily reading.

They are important to me.

They are my conversation with God’s Word.

Here are a few benefits I’ve experienced:

  • It provides a disciplined approach to reading the Bible.
  • It provides an interesting way to get through the Bible in a year.
  • It helps establish the narrative of the Bible in my mind.

    Highly recommended.

    Highly recommended.

Now, of course, with YouVersion, you can read it on your computer, your IPhone (or any cell phone), your IPad, your IWhatever. Apps with every creative kind of incentive are available.

The point is to read. And to think about what you’re reading.

It is true that His Word is forever settled in heaven. But I also want it settled in my mind and heart and spirit. The One Year Bible has made that a reality for me.

I encourage you at the start of this New Year to try it. If you don’t have one, buy a parallel Bible in the version of your choice (check “excerpts” to be sure). Don’t worry if you are behind. Read a couple of days at a time and you’ll be caught up in no time at all.

Just get started. This marvelous journey of 365 days begins with Day One.

Do you have a daily reading plan? If not, what would prevent you from trying this?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Erin Smith on January 4, 2013 at 12:03 pm

    I woke up late this morning, chose to stay in bed instead of getting up and immersing my mind and heart in the word…. I have been paying for it all day so far…. Sigh. Lesson learned.. Again. I agree, Deb, MUST do this if we are to function at ALL God has for us:)

    Reply

  2. YES, great post. It’s the tranformational power in our lives. Thanks sister Deb for the encouragement to press on in the word!

    Reply

  3. I’m hoping my readers are encouraged to try this method of journeying through the Bible in a year.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Donna on March 6, 2013 at 2:19 am

    Hi Debra, I’ve been a One Year Bible reader for years and just this year started reading through a chronological version. I’m loving it in its story format.

    Reply

  5. Certainly a great option, too. Love the choices!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

