A Small Valentine

 Playing with our shadows.

Playing with our shadows.

In years to come, she won’t remember me putting on her ladybug rainboots or zipping up her jacket.

Those bright winter mornings out the door, down the sidewalk to go check on the cows.

The smooth river rocks in the neighbor’s yard where we stop and she chooses some to take on our walk.

 One for me, one for you.

One for me, one for you.

Climbing up on the porch of the corner house with its old white, weathered, 2 seat rocking chair and sitting down together because she wants to. Sitting just so and rocking just so and feeling the morning sun on our faces and listening to the mockingbird in the pines across the street.

She is 2 years old, only 2, and she won’t remember.

On down the street to the house with the ceramic rabbit in the small rose garden with its little bench where we must sit again for awhile and hold the rabbit and watch the blackbirds overhead and the airplanes.

 Singing, too.

Singing, too.

The lot where yellow mustard grows and tiny orange wildflowers that must be picked and taken with us.

Crossing the street to where the calves are waiting. Frisky and Freddy and Bubble Gum and the two black calves that are very shy.

She will have no memory of taking handfuls of hay and feeding the cows with their funny wet noses and leathery tongues that take the hay from her small hands.

 Freddie and Natalia.

Freddie and Natalia.

Sitting in the sun on the big old tractor, holding our flowers and her saying, “You’re Kicky and I’m Starka.” She taking the taller yellow flowers because she is big, and I, because I am little, taking the small orange ones.

 Love.

Love.

She will not remember looking up at me with those beautiful clear blue eyes and the sun on her strawberry blond hair as we sit together in the winter sunshine and suddenly saying in that little girl voice,

“I love you so very much.”

But I will remember.

With my last breath I will remember.

We’ve all been blessed with small valentines. What are some of yours?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Erin Smith on February 13, 2013 at 8:39 am

    This is truly beautiful… Like a breath of fresh air this morning ❤ thank you for sharing… But yes… I think she WILL remember:)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sarai on February 13, 2013 at 11:42 am

    I love this Sis. Deb, just precious!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Debbie Mossberg on February 14, 2013 at 7:42 am

    So touching.. Thank you for sharing your heart. As soon as I read this I had t call my Granddaughter Jordan to tell her just one more time how special she is.

    Reply

  4. This is so beautiful. It makes me think of times with my granddaughter, Jessica, who will be 21 in April. I hope she remembers the feeling if not the exact moments we shared when she was young.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

