What I Used to Think

In his inspiring, high-energy book, Love Does, Bob Goff makes some brief statements at the start of each chapter. Example:                                                                                                                                  SayYes

  • I used to think you had to be special for God to use you, but now I know you simply need to say yes.

 My Book Group got going on this exercise recently. Here are some of their thoughts:

  • I used to think friends are forever, but that’s not true. Friends are seasonal. (This provoked a fair amount of conversation.)
  • I used to think God was disappointed with me, but now I know I am secure in His favor.
  • I used to think I knew all the answers, but now I’m sure I don’t.
  • I used to think if you were nice to people, they would like you, but now I know that’s not true.

Take some time to think about this. How are some ways time and experience have altered your opinions or assumptions? Here’s one of mine:

  • I used to try to convince people of the Truth, but now I know it’s better to love them to Christ.

We go through life collecting assumptions and tacking them to our behavior.  Fact is, we can end up with loads of mental junk that get in the way of things like a fresh spiritual perspective or interesting new friendships.

Origami1Goff makes the statement, “We are like human origami. The more creases we have, the more interesting we are.”  The creases of “I used to” make possible the beauty of “but now I know.”

That’s what I think.

Can you share an example of “I used to . . . but now I know”?

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. This is beautiful Sister Deb! Thank you! I used to think I knew the right way but God turned my world upside down and opened my eyes to the blindness and now I can see! Thank you Jesus for your goodness to me!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Erin on March 25, 2013 at 7:23 am

    I used to think I had to have it all together before I could get to work about The Lord’s business, now I know He uses us for His work through our process:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

